Singapore Quarry

It was a blistering hot Sunday morning when we visited the quarry around last year’s April. My wife and I, along with some friends, were hiking Bukit Timah Nature Reserve that day before we got to the quarry. It was my first visit ever to the place and as it turned out there would be many more to come, as we often visited the place for a bit of a workout.

Somewhere along the hiking trail in the nature reserve there is a split in the path that allows you to go to Dairy Farm. From there, if you continue on towards the southwest you will get to the quarry, which was what we did that Sunday. It was late morning, and the sun was already high in the sky.

The former quarry is now a wetland, with a viewing platform for visitors to observe the local flora and fauna. They are not allowed to feed the fish though. Below the platform is a small lake, and in front of it stands a cliff where people probably used to mine minerals from. Various plants now grow on top and in the face of the cliff.

The Singapore Quarry. Click the photo above for a bigger version

While we were there to rest our legs and enjoy the view, I went out to the platform’s railing and decided to take a panorama photo. I took it using ‘Pano’, an iPhone panorama app that I often used before I found out about AutoStitch. The original photo looked a bit washed-out and the sky was over-exposed (it was a very sunny day). I used Camera+ to try and make the photo look better. I added ‘Clarity’ and applied the ‘Emo’ filter. The ‘Clarity’ scene option added sharpness and brought out the, err, clarity of the photo; while the ‘Emo’ filter added saturation to the green color in the photo. The sky was overblown, but the blooming effect is actually quite pleasant, at least for me.

After a year or so of living here in Singapore I’ve only visited the Quarry twice. The walk there can be tiring, not only because it is quite far from Dairy Farm, but also because the trail was out in the open with little protection from the scorching heat. There’s nothing much to see there, but at least I’ve managed to take this photo as a token of my visit there.

Leave a Reply

