Taking the Monday Off from Work

Personally, the best kind of holiday is the one where you’re the only one having it. And that’s exactly what I had yesterday. After dropping my wife off at the airport early in the morning (she’s on a week-long business trip to Tokyo, Japan… lucky her) and putting an ‘Out of Office’ notice in my Outlook, I decided to go out to Chinatown area and test drive my recently-acquired Sony NEX-7.

You probably heard that I managed to sell my Nikon D300. I used the extra cash to get myself this wonderful mirrorless camera from Sony. For those of you who don’t know what an insanely great this camera is, try reading reviews from sites such as dpreview.com and photographyblog.com. Unfortunately, Sony’s NEX series camera system suffers from meager selection of available native E-mount lenses (E-mount is Sony’s NEX lens system). It’s a great camera, however, if you have a collection of legacy lenses. I’m planning to get a Nikon lens adapter so that I could use my Nikon lenses on this camera.

The test drive was fun. It was easy to get myself used to shooting photos using this camera. The Tri-Navi system works wonderfully. After roughly 4 hours of street photography I came away generally impressed with the easy handling and great results. I was not that happy with the AF, but maybe that’s just because I got used to being pampered with my Nikon D3 lightning-fast AF.

I should just create a separate blog entry for the impression before I got carried away talking about this camera.

Anyways, I had a great time enjoying my Monday off from work. Aside from filling my SD card to the brim with photos I also got myself another Transformers figure (Generation Wheeljack, a classic character!) in one of the shops in Chinatown Square Center. Yeah, I just geeked out there.

That’s all for this aside. For now. I’m planning to post my impression of the Sony NEX-7 in a later blog. Here’s hoping that all of you are having a great start of the week so far!

Leave a Reply

